Top – Scotland: Liverpool full-back Andy Robertson to miss Kazakhstan game


Andy Robertson has amassed 28 caps for Scotland
Euro 2020 qualifying: Kazakhstan v Scotland
Venue: Astana Area Date: Thursday, 21 March Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
Protection: Pay attention on BBC Radio Scotland 810MW/DAB/on-line; reside textual content commentary on the BBC Sport web site; watch highlights on BBC Scotland

Scotland captain Andy Robertson has been dominated out of Thursday’s opening Euro 2020 qualifier in Kazakhstan.

The Liverpool defender had stayed behind in Glasgow when the squad left on Sunday evening to have an operation on an abscess in his mouth.

READ  A Second Chance for Prisoners, and Their Warden - News

He had hoped to satisfy his team-mates in Astana, however will as an alternative be part of them mates for Scotland’s second match in San Marino on Sunday.

It means Celtic defender Kieran Tierney is prone to deputise at left-back.

Jordan Archer, Barry Bannan and Charlie Mulgrew had already withdrawn from Alex McLeish’s squad, with Liam Kelly and Stuart Findlay known as up.

READ  Top: US does not seek war with Iran, says Mike Pompeo

Livingston goalkeeper Kelly and Kilmarnock defender Findlay are each but to win a cap for his or her nation.

Scotland squad

Goalkeepers: Scott Bain (Celtic), Liam Kelly (Livingston), Jon McLaughlin (Sunderland)

Defenders: David Bates (Hamburg), Stuart Findlay (Kilmarnock), Scott McKenna (Aberdeen), Stephen O’Donnell (Kilmarnock), Liam Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), John Souttar (Coronary heart of Midlothian), Kieran Tierney (Celtic).

READ  Top - Michael Schumacher: Tributes paid to F1 legend on 50th birthday

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), John Fleck (Sheffield United), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich Metropolis), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), Callum Paterson (Cardiff Metropolis), Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen), Oliver Burke (Celtic), James Forrest (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Bournemouth).

Forwards: Oli McBurnie (Swansea Metropolis), Marc McNulty (Hibernian), Lewis Morgan (Sunderland), Johnny Russell (Kansas Metropolis).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here